GETTING MY HANDS DIRTY

Yes, believe it or not I am getting my hands quite dirty.  Yesterday morning we helped a 1o year old kid pick vegetables in his garden he grows himself.  Now I need to back up and tell you how we got to that point.  On Tuesday my companion (Sister Gines) and I decided to go to the Farmer’s market in Palmyra.  It’s a small operation, but it’s fun because everything is cheap and the people are nice.  I was looking around at this one stand that was run by a boy and his Mom.  As missionaries we like to look for service opportunities, so I asked them if there was anything we could do to help them on their farm.  The Mom said, “Well he is the one to talk to, this is all him”, as she points to her son.  I didn’t see that one coming.  I then asked him if we could help him sometime.  He was a little reluctant at first, but he said, “Sure if you want”.  So we set up a time and arranged to meet.  This kid was all business, as we were leaving he stated, “You know you’re working for me, not my Mom”.  I smiled and just said, “oh alright then”.

So yesterday we showed up at his house at 7:00 am ready to work.  We rang the doorbell, his Dad came out first.  We met him and he was really nice. His son came out a little after, put on his boots and said “follow me with your car”, as he walked into his garage.  A couple of seconds later he cruises around the corner on a “Gator” and takes off.  So we follow him onto this huge farm to a small patch of land that he takes care of.  We picked some beets, onions, and carrots.  All of this he does himself, and then goes with his Mom to sell them at Farmers’ Markets.  Although we didn’t get to teach a lesson or pass out a Book of Mormon it was fun to just get out and serve the people, even if they are only 10 years old.

2 responses

  1. A great post, Sister Smoot! I used it as a positive example within a post that I wrote about things a missionary blog is NOT. Way to use the medium in a great way. Keep up the good work (in the field and online).

    July 31, 2010 at 1:06 am

Leave a comment